WPL 2023: Mumbai Indians became the winner of the first season of Women’s IPL, know who got which award, prize money and everything

Rate this post

WPL 2023 Awards: Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals to win first Women’s IPL Let us tell you who won which prize and how much prize money the champion team got.

WPL 2023 Final: The final match of the Women’s Premier League was played between Delhi Capitals and Mumbai Indians on 26 March. In this match, Mumbai beat Delhi by 7 wickets in the last over to win the first season of the Women’s IPL. After the first women’s IPL is over, there is a question in most people’s minds how much is the prize money for the winning team? If you have the same question in your mind, then let us tell you about the prize money of the winners, runners-up as well as the players who performed well and won the award in this match.

WPL 2023
WPL 2023. Women’s IPL

Women’s IPL Prize Money (WPL 2023)

The winning team in the Women’s Premier League 2023 will be awarded a prize money of Rs 6 crore. At the same time, the runner-up team who lost in the final match will be given prime money of Rs 3 crore. Apart from this, UP Warriors, the losing team in the eliminator, will also be awarded prize money of Rs 1 crore. According to media reports, fourth and fifth-placed teams Royal Challengers Bangalore and Gujarat Giants will get nothing.

Who Received Any Award?

Most Powerful Striker of the Match – Radha Yadav, Delhi Capitals, Trophy and Rs.1 Lakh
Man of the Match – Nat Seaver-Brant, Mumbai Indians, trophy and Rs.2.5 lakh
Strongest Strike of the Season – Sophie Devine, RCB, trophy, and Rs 5 lakh
Emerging Player of the Season – Yastika Bhatia – Trophy and Rs.5 Lakhs
Fairplay Award – Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals
Catch of the Season – Harmanpreet Kaur, Mumbai Indians, trophy and Rs.5 lakh
Most wickets, Purple Cap – Hailey Mathews, Mumbai Indians – Trophy and Rs 5 lakh
Most Runs, Orange Cap – Meg Lanning, Delhi Capitals – Trophy and Rs.5 Lakh
Most Valuable Player of the Season – Hailey Mathews, Mumbai Indians – Trophy and Rs.5 lakh.

How Was The WPL 2023 Match?

Delhi Capitals won the toss and elected to bat first in this match held at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, but the Mumbai Indians bowlers spoiled all their plans. EC Wang, who took a hat-trick of wickets in the eliminator match, sent Delhi’s two dangerous batsmen Shefali Verma and Alice Kapsey to the pavilion in the very first over of the match.

Then Jemima Rodrigues was also out with only 9 runs in the score of 35 runs. The pressure continued to mount on Delhi, but eventually, Shikha Pandey scored an unbeaten 27 off 17 balls to take the team to 131 for 9 in 20 overs.

Mumbai did not get off to a good start with the bat, losing the first two wickets for just 23 runs, but Nat Seaver-Brant and captain Harmanpreet Kaur gradually built up their innings, followed by Nat Seaver-Brant, the star of the eliminator match. Mumbai Indians won the Women’s Premier League for the first time by playing an unbeaten innings of 60 runs from 55 balls.

Leave a Comment